The “how” of it is just as important as the “what” of it

Just like how you should go about seasoning a new corset or commencing a corset waist-training program, the key is the “how” of it for nutrition.

A friend just recommended the December 1 book  by Bee Wilson called  First Bite — and my copy is on the way. The author says, “The way we learn to eat holds the key to why food has gone so disastrously wrong for so many people.”

It starts at our family’s table and with our parents. They too are influenced by their own culture and upbringing. What they saw their mom’s cook, what they typically ate as a small child, and how they ate influenced them as it did all of us.

We learn portion size from them. We learn to “clean our plates” or to “leave one bite on the plate as a sign of good etiquette.” I remember my mom made me sit at the dinner table until I ate every single pea on my plate, even turning off the lights and leaving me alone to sit there. It was my version of early childhood waterboard torture.  I gave up and ate it all. At least I didn’t get into the bad habit of wolfing down food. I’ve seen that destructive way of eating in several of my friends, and I always notice it. If their parents sat down at the table and never put their fork down, then ran away from the table, it makes sense that they might eat the same way using the same example. I’ll have to ask my BFF about that, since she is one!

I also remember my mom telling me that her parents had the same rule. Thus, she used to have her collie Bill, sit by her side and when her parents weren’t looking, she would quickly place food from her plate into Bill’s waiting and happy mouth.

What about eating practices during the rise of the robots and our addiction to techie devices? I’ve read that modern families hardly ever sit down at a table together. They stand and wolf food down, or eat in smaller groups from the family unit, or each person chooses what they want to eat. Is that ubiquitous in families with parents age 20 to 30 today? I find it not only odd to me but sad, because it misses the social cement and bonding experience I had, that of the entire family sitting down together, iPhones off the table, and actually conversing together about daily topics or concerns.

It might pay for you to take the three months you formally corset train to carefully examine what you learned as a child, and decide how much of a role it has had in shaping your own good and bad habits and feelings about food and eating.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Waist Training Information

Leave a Reply

