A new book on sugar and sodas — tough on a corseted tummy!

There’s a new book by a professor whom I respect and quote in my Corset Magic book, because she’s not an alarmist nor an extremist, and does appreciate the scientific approach. The book blurb says:

In Soda Politics, Dr. Marion Nestle answers this question by detailing all of the ways that the soft drink industry works overtime to make drinking soda as common and accepted as drinking water, for adults and children. Dr. Nestle, a renowned food and nutrition policy expert and public health advocate, shows how sodas are principally miracles of advertising; Coca-Cola and PepsiCo spend billions of dollars each year to promote their sale to children, minorities, and low-income populations, in developing as well as industrialized nations. And once they have stimulated that demand, they leave no stone unturned to protect profits.

Soda on a corseted tummy can be very uncomfortable since bubbles go up — and down. That’s why I advise corseted brides not to imbibe in champagne toasts, or limit it to one glass sipped slowly and carefully to test the results.

I’ve blogged about the amoutn of sugar (almost 1/2 cup) contained in one Coke and more in a Mountain Dew. This weekend I read that 1/2 cup of my favorite egg nog has 41 gms of sugar.

But this year, my first, it will not be a temptation in which I indulge. I don’t want to re-visit that horrible nauseated feeling in my tummy after trying just one-half piece of iced carrot cake I tried on my birthday, after not eating added sugar for five months. It just isn’t worth it to me to suffer so.

I’ll hang onto that memory of the nausea, and will do my best to attach it to the idea of sugar whenever I see holiday treats laid out at parties. Yesterday I hosted a lady’s tea party for my Mary Kay friend, to learn about skin care and this caring company. The only refined sugar product I served was CostCo’s mini-quiches, and two of them contain but 3 gms of sugar. Since I offered no other treats containing white sugar, I decided this was acceptable.

I used a small bit of organic honey in the banana bread I baked fresh (and lots of bananas, dates and nuts), added blueberry honey to my cream cheese for a spread, baked a Southern recipe of corn flour muffins (no sugar), made hummus at home for a fresh veggie plate, chilled a fresh pineapple sprinkled with one tablespoon of Marsala wine and refrigerated overnight, and set out mixed toasted nuts and dried blueberries, and a bowl of  huge and sugary green seedless grapes for my guests. Everyone seemed to love the treats and not one person complained that they weren’t sweet enough.

So it IS possible to survive the holidays without eating refined and added sugar, but it takes some resolve, plus some planning, shopping, and cooking. Carry some of your own treats on a plate as a hostess gift in case there is nothing sugar-free there for you to eat, and you’ll be sure to stick to your plan, and tighten down, not loosen your glamorous corseted holiday attire.

Anyone care to share some holiday-style treats? I’ll be back with some dynamite pumpkin bread I just tried!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General Waist Training Information

Leave a Reply

