How Much Sugar is in a Fully-leaded Coke?

Sugar in a Coke_6I’ve been pursuing a no-refined sugar diet since June 15 and became curious about the above question. I decided to go for a visual representation.

My partner weighed out 39 grams of sugar contained in a fully-leaded Coke.  He put it in a container about the same circumference of a Coke can and you can see it pictured here.

Can you imagine drinking slightly under one-quarter of a cup of pure refined sugar? That is what you are doing when you drink a Coke!

I’m not sure about you, but this picture shocks me. It also reinforces my resolution to avoid refined sugar as much as I possibly can by my two suggested strategies: avoiding cakes, pies, cookies, and candies, plus reading labels to choose the lowest possible if any refined sugar content in my foods.

I also implemented today something I have experimented with in the past in order to improve my diet and stave off hunger. Last night I was not hungry at dinner for an unknown reason, so I decided to just stop eating. What a novel concept! Imagine that, stopping eating when  one feels full no matter how much is on your plate (mom would not approve!)

For dinner I ate one bite of lean baked pork loin, one bite of stir fried bok choy (in spray of olive oil), and two bites of baked half of sweet potato with 1/4 tsp. of butter and then noticed that I was not hungry. I then wrapped up the rest and put it in the fridge.

This morning the remainder of my dinner was my breakfast at 7:30 am. So far by 11 am I’m not hungry and have had only about 7 almonds for a snack. I’m certain from my research that the key to defeating hunger is to eat a good bit of protein at breakfast (and any meal). Hunger and stress are said to be the two things that most defeat diets and good nutrition intentions. I’m working on hunger as a new chapter in my book for the next fall revision.

Anyone want to share their tips?

Don’t forget that ROMANTASY now  sponsors TWO blogs. You are reading (and we hope “following”) our general blog, while you may access our other private blog by sending a simple email request to us, including a brief summary of your interest in good nutrition, health and waist or figure shaping and corsetry (even if you are not a ROMANTASY client). Our private and confidential blog will be for you to author and post directly your tips, waist-training progress notes about your own experience, and encouragement for others.

Leave a comment

Filed under Announcements, General Waist Training Information, Proper Nutrition Tips for Waist Training

Leave a Reply

