Good Taste – in the Mouth but Not on the Hips!

I’ve noticed an interesting result of my recent waist-training efforts to drop an inch in my waistline and also off my hips. I’ve accomplished both things in eight weeks, chronicled earlier in this blog. However, along the way my taste has improved!

I wonder how many times we dampen down taste by over-salting foods and eating too much sugar? Has anyone noticed that?

We all know the general heath benefits from eating a low-fat, low-sugar, low-carb diet when we also eat lots of fatty fish like salmon, veggies and fruits. However, I did not anticipate that there is great pleasure also to be derived from a healthy diet like that!

I remember Christine who was an early coaching student many years ago in my waist-training program. After a month of waist training and changing her food choices to focus more on veggies and less on fats and meats, she found for the first time in her life that she enjoyed the taste of celery! That comment in her final program evaluation struck me as a bit odd.

It strikes me as a bit odd that a few weeks ago after being off refined sugar for about six weeks, I noticed that my snack portion of almonds tasted sweet. I had never noticed that before when eating almonds.  I also adore dried sour cherries, which have taken on a kind of brillance of taste these days when I couple them with almonds (nuts reduce the speed with which the fruit sugar enters your bloodstream, all to the good).

Last night in my attempt to find new non-sugar desserts, I tried a few wee slices of pineapple-encrusted svarin brillat cheese on a very slender half slice of sour dough, followed by a small slice of fresh nectarine. The cheese (and the nectarine also) was almost overwhemingly sweet (but deliciously so!). My partner said the combination held as much pleasure for him as does his favorite cheese cake! Amazing comment that certainly got my attention, as did my own taste response.

My present waist-training student, Lee, agrees. When I discussed this development with her, Lee said that since she adopted a natural foods diet, her taste for fruits also improved and that grapes by now were “almost too sweet” to her.

We also discussed how to eat chocolate, her favorite sweet indulgence. My approach in coaching is to teach students to go for the best, most exquisite and most expensive preferred treat possible, even if it is chocolate, but go for very small portions, like one square or piece as dessert. Then, learn to carefully and lovingly lick your piece of chocolate to death, taking up to an hour–a new idea that tickled Lee’s fancy when she first heard it from me! She said: “I had 1 square of Lindt 85% cocoa dark chocolate.  I made it last for 20 mins.  🙂  … well short of an hour, but a long time for me!”

It’s an interesting adventure to experiment with one’s nutritional program, tweaking this or that and changing how we eat, then noting the results. Pay attention not only to results using the tape measure or scale as do most corset waist-trainees, but also note the more subtle pleasures that might just develop unexpectedly along the way, making the process of corset waist training both fascinating and rewarding as well!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General Waist Training Information, Proper Nutrition Tips for Waist Training

Leave a Reply

