Finally!! Some Good News (but a bit of bad) on the American Obesity Scene!!!!

I just have to share this celebratory blog with you, having just opened up my Sunday New York Times to read on the front page that “America Starts to Push Away From the Plate” by Margo Sanger-Katz. It’s worth a read:

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/07/25/upshot/americans-are-finally-eating-less.html?ref=health&_r=0

Based on three sources of data the article concludes that fewer calories are finally being eaten in this country, with the best reductions in calorie intake occurring in families with children.

Which brings to mind a motivation I have heard from several of my coaching program students, that they wished to be in better health and lose weight for their children in order to be around to take care of them. Great motivation if you ask me. If that one reason alone causes you to try corset waist-training, it’s enough to almost guarantee your success if you choose reasonable goals.

The three data sources from which to conclude there is now less calorie consumption in America are: (1) food dairies traced by the government researchers (don’t ask what that is as I don’t know), (2) food bar code info, and (3) food production.

The most striking shift the article says, is that soda drinking has dropped 25% since the late 1990s. I remember one former student who before joining our coaching program, drank 10 fully-leaded sodas a day. Amazing that. She was surely on a course to self-destruct. Sadly, without reason, she dropped out of the three-month program just two weeks shy of completion, and stopped returning my emails or phone calls. It represented a huge disappointment to me, but there is nothing to be done if a student refuses to communicate, and a few refuse to do so.

The sad problem pointed out in today’s article however, is that we continue to eat a bit of every food group and other than sodas, have not cut back on desserts and refined sugar.

You may have noted that that is my latest “big reveal” to myself: I was eating far too many desserts (refined sugar) and thus had added about an extra 200-400 calories to my daily consumption, resulting in a 10-15 lb weight gain and 1″ waistline gain in 1.5 yrs past. When in May I read “I Love Me More Than Sugar” by Barry Friedman, the message clicked!! I DO love me more than sugar…and I love being and feeling svelte and healthy and energetic. And that realization resulted in four weeks of just giving up sweet breakfasts and desserts but not being obsessive about it. I don’t eschew a bit of sugar added to things like packaged Bisquick, and I enjoy a wee bit of organic honey from time to time, and do eat lactose sugars like my low 80-cal. Greek Yogurt with only 7 gms. of sugar.  On June 14 I weighed 120.6 lbs, but today I weighed 114.2 lbs –  and am determined to keep moving down to my goal of a consistent 112 lbs — but with increased muscle strength, flexibility and balance. I’m achieving those three things from my three-times weekly yoga and aerobic/stretch classes plus walking 1/2 mile there and back for classes. It’s working for me, so my proof is in the non-sugar pudding!

There are two other significant, cautionary points made in today’s article.

First, to me the timing of this announcement today, compared to when the seminal AMA paper that focused on obesity was released in 1999, says that:

People take about 15 years for any public health message to sink in. 

Attitudes don’t change over night!! It takes more than half a generation to effect our behavior–so let’s get started earlier and hit the message harder, especially in the schools and early childhood/family education.

And then there is the problem of making good choices (how we act) to match our attitude (how we think and what we know intellectually):

Thinking and knowing is not equal to acting!

Something more is needed to get us to act on what we know. Perhaps it is peer pressure? Perhaps it is just getting inundated with terrifying public health notices about obesity much like the anti-tobacco movement did? Personally I am horrified by commercials showing  smokers who have seriously harmed themselves and seem and are, next to death’s door when they record their messages. But it sure gets my attention. Luckily I quit smoking in 1971 and quit drinking in 1988. It took me until 2015 to quit refined sugar, so I wonder: which is the worse addiction?

Second, the good news does not extend to the very obese. Weight and waist circumference have all continued rising in recent years. To me this points to three things.Ms. X. before and after

The first is that corset waist-training could fairly be promoted to the very obese. It’s fun. It’s fashionable. It’s pretty (when did an obese person last feel truly pretty?). It’s immediate in terms of trimming 3 to 4″ off a waistline the first time you put a corset on, and it immediately improves posture to boot. Then it works it’s magic on a permanent basis as did on Ms. X who in three months of corset waist-training coaching, dropped 50 lbs. from her 325 lb. frame and lost 5″ waistline inches. Note in her picture “before” left and “after” right, that her waistline crease has disappeared,  her biceps and neck have slimmed down, and the sides of her derriere have slimmed down. The positive changes are evident.

However, we also need to evaluate the emotional component of eating that underlies obesity. If we want to lose weight and get healthier, but we don’t get control of and understand how we got to where we are (a lot of that has to do with internal reasons as well as just more surface food choices, planning, and shopping), then we will likely not succeed. Succeed in what? In reversing the trend up and into worse health. My latest coaching program graduate Dorothy quite brilliantly chose reversing the trend that had brought her unhappiness and poor self image as she had expanded over time despite an active exercise program. You can read about her success in just prior blogs. If we don’t reverse a negative trend, then most likely we will just experience failure in part or in whole, give up again, and yo yo back up and keep going in putting on weight as we age and it gets harder to lose.

There is clearly more work to be done in addressing our national and international epidemic of obesity, but we hope with less reliance on surgery and “quick fixes.” This all starts at home  in what you and I will do individually to improve our health. It has a lot to do with whether we can and do stick it out in the face of questions, even ridicule, possible jealously expressed by others as we trim up, and “friendly” pushes to give in to temptations and go off track.

So, do you love you more than (fill in the blank when it comes to food indulgences)?????

Leave a comment

Filed under General Waist Training Information, Hot Topics on Health

Leave a Reply

