Food based vitamins?

Today I had the most fascinating over-hour conversation with a professional, licensed nutritionist who has a current interest in corseting and improving her figure and posture. She’s as intense about her passion and knowledge-base in nutrition and well-being with a  goal of enhancement of form and function in life, as I am regarding corsets and waist training.

She pointed me to a food-based vitamin powder supplement she says that professional athletes are already hip to. Like me, you might want to check it out. It’s called Nutriversa. I’m not by any means recommending you try this; I’m not even sure it’s effective or price-available or even a responsible product, being about $65/mo. — ouch! for most of us. Check it out on choosereal.com. We must all do our ‘due diligence’ exploration of any new product we learn about, right? Right!

I do know from a recent lecture I attended at UC Med Center by a clinician/instructor/research doctor who is an expert in vitamins, that other than about 800 mg of calcium and 800 IU of Vit D taken daily, all other vitamin supplements slightly tend to raise the risk of death in random controlled studies she summarize Read that sentence again. Yes, it’s true! This fact alone caused me to rethink taking my multivitamin.  When I finish the present bottle I will cease and desist. Apparently the huge push to take supplements emanates from drug companies that stand to benefit. As my economist friend said, always ask and try to answer: “who stands to benefit?” when you are considering any idea or proposition.

A student in attendance at the lecture mentioned above asked if any random controlled trials have been done using foods as sources for vitamins rather than chemical supplements? The doctor smiled wryly and admitted the negative, which we all knew anyway.

I’m now seeking information about an apparently 18 year study done by the company producing Nutriversa, to see if it was a random controlled study, or merely an anecdotal study of lesser value in terms of results. I’d be interested to hear if anyone has heard of this product before, or uses it as a food-based supplement, and what were the results? Being food based my informant said it will take time to feel changes….but how long is reasonable “time,” and how do we know this works for the good and not for the financial benefit of the manufacturer? These are all open questions to be explored.

Leave a comment

Filed under Hot Topics on Health

Leave a Reply

