Keeping Records During Waist Training

A former waist-training student Bret, just sent this tip in: “Do you have a Smart Phone? If yes, you may want to get the Noom diet/weight/exercise tracker – very easy application that really works.”

Bret engages in periodic mini-training programs to enhance his shape and trim down some body fat. He often shares up-to-date information on nutrition, training techniques, and health advice with me, to pass on to students of waist training.

Keeping good records on a daily basis during waist training is one way to focus one’s attention on what one actually eats and how one conducts one’s daily life. I believe there is a lot of mindless living going on and that we need all the help and advice we can get as to how to counter act that. Lately I’ve been reading a bit about Buddhism and militating against mindless living seems to be one of Budda’s principle concerns.

Does that mean daily calorie-counting during training? I’m not so sure. I don’t recommend it to my coaching students, tho it might be important the first two weeks when a person new to waist training might be breaking three meals a day down into the recommended eight snacks per day. It’s fairly easy when one starts this process, to overeat. So counting calories with some precision might be wise. I’ve blogged before  how careless choices of standard sizes of bowls or plates can lead one to think we are eating a normal recommended portion, when we are eating far more than that!

Perhaps I don’t recommend counting calories because I’ve observed that’s a very difficult thing to do in terms of settling upon what is “recommended” to drop or to maintain one’s weight. As a coach, I’m more interested in two things for my students: (1) seeing a downward trend in inches and pounds over the weeks of training but generally ignoring daily results, and (2) seeing more change in waistline inches than pounds, since pounds can vary from 2 to 8 from one day to the next!

Further, over the past year I’ve been thinking about my mom’s increasing age and declining health in terms of what she now eats and weighs at age 96. As viewed in the picture from some 20 years ago, she has a very  slim build and now a more shrunken height due to osteoporosis (she was 5’5″ and now is 5′). Her present reduced weight of 85 lbs. is not desperately serious, albeit concerning. But she never weighed more than 108 pounds and for the past 10 years, has never weighed more than 100. Thus, I doubt that what would be considered “normal” for her in terms of calorie intake today would be much more than 800-900 calories per day. At my height and weight of 5’6″ and 116-120 lbs., I doubt I could be expected to eat more than about 1200-1500 calories per day to maintain my figure. To lose weight, I’ve always had to drop back to about 1000 – 1100 calories per day. Yet my sister claims I should be eating 1500 calories a day and mom should be eating 1200. I rather doubt that.

Would love to hear from others trying formal waist training as to how they relate to calorie-counting and intake in terms of effectiveness, and what importance they find in journaling about diet, calories, and exercise.

1 Comment

Filed under General Waist Training Information

One response to “Keeping Records During Waist Training

  1. edward hickey

    wonderful article.

Leave a Reply

