One Pot Meals Reduce Calories – research from Cornell University

On “The Chew” tv show today. I learned that one pot meals may reduce our calorie intake.  I checked out and recommend the source, a report (published January 28 in Journal of Eating Behaviors) from Cornell University:  http://www.news.cornell.edu/stories/March12/FoodNumber.html

“Soup, pasta, stew or stir-fry, will cut down on the amount of food and calories consumed.” As we know, our environment plays a powerful role in determining how much we eat, and I would add, our food choices.

But then,  — I knew that! Buffets are lethal, and even worse are the huge assortment of foods prepared and served by my partner’s Chinese family at family gatherings. Before I started participating in those, I had never seen three meats, three vegetables, three starches, two types of bread, and three desserts offered at a home meal! My mom prepared one meat, one starch, and one veggie, and never served bread.  I soon understood why all three Chinese-American  children suffer from being overweight, one being a pre-diabetic. Their typical family meal choices were, and are just overwhelmingly tempting. And of course, the family always chooses those fatty Chinese buffet restaurants for going out to dinner, never a Salad Bar or even a Vietnamese restaurant. Each family member fills his or her plate two to three times, but I do my best to choose only 1/2 a plateful of food and one dessert, and most times I am successful.

To the contrary, at home  one of my favorite meals is a simple-to-prepare one-pot meal of non-fatty seared pork roast plus water and a bit of white wine to cover the roast. You can use a round cut (less fat) beef roast or chicken.  I simmer it for 30 minutes. Then I add in potatoes, carrots, brussel sprouts, and simmer for an hour, but for the last 10 minutes, add chopped cauliflower.

Almost every weekend I make a large pot of home-made soup using left-over roasted chicken bones, a ham hock, or even pork spare rib bones. Sometimes but rarely, I purchase beef soup bones.  In my home, I don’t waste any bone and always make a soup.

Learned from my mom, the three items that make soups particularly tasty are (1) a turnip,  (2) brussel sprouts or (3) cabbage.  On occasion I indulge and toss in a small handful of wild rice (but it’s expensive!). I then add almost anything in my kitchen, including dried split peas, lentils, rice, barley, and after a couple of hours of simmering, I add a sliced carrot, chopped brocolli, can of green beans or peas, or mixed veggies. In the meantime I boil a pot of water, drop in 1 cup of dried beans (cannelloni are great tasting), cover it and let it sit for 20 min. Then I drain and rinse the beans, cover them with water plus 1″, add a chopped half onion, salt and pepper, and gently simmer those one hour. At that time I simply add the boiling juice and beans to my simmering soup and let that go for another hour. Sometimes if I want a minnestroni taste, I add a can of diced Italian seasoned tomatoes, and 1/4 c. of white wine and simmer one more hour. By that time, it’s ready to eat.

The next day your soup will be even better, and the  day after better than that! If the quantity exceeds the size of your tummy as my soup does, simply put the excess in a plastic storage container and freeze, or gift a large jar to your lucky neighbor or family!

Do you have any great, low fat health 0ne-pot, or soup, meal recipes to share?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General Waist Training Information

Leave a Reply

