A word about waist-training belts

Just received this email from a lady with whom I’ve been corresponding as she judges her budget and tries to settle on the right rib-straightening style of corsetry:

“Last week I did wear a wide leather belt I had at home to try to catch the bottom part of my ribs and bring them in, so I could start training them, but I ended so sore and red abrasions from it.”

We’ve heard that before when a client goes about ‘seasoning’ a new belt too precipitously, but rarely such a complaint even if seasoning a custom corset the same. That is because the corset will sculpt over the body if properly made and not tweak or pinch, nor have truly hard edges as has a sturdy leather belt.

Even our Training Belt when it was in production (we have no team maker just yet and do not offer it as of April 2011 but hope to in the future), had some similar problems if folks belted down too much or wore it for too long. Additionally we have had clients report back that they experienced a much more gaseous tummy with a belt than with a corset. The final problem is that a belt will undoubtedly squish out the lower belly and might tend to encourage it to reamin so, the longer you belt down, especially if not worn with a sturdy girdle to control more of the lower torso.

That being said, I like to wear my belt occasionally or as an alternative to a more body-snugging corset. The belt will allow you to breathe and move more readily and might be preferable for those reasons.

Do you have a preference or experience with belts to share?

Shown left is a gorgeous hand-made embellished Training Belt by our former maker Kevin, worn backwards, more in a fashion style.

2 Comments

Filed under Custom Corsets Suitable for Waist Training, General Waist Training Information, Hot Topics on Health

2 responses to “A word about waist-training belts

  1. I haven’t tried a waist slimming belt before, and honestly haven’t heard much about them before reading this post. I’d have to learn more about them, but I think waist cinchers and slimmers — or corsets — may be what I plan to stick with for a while. The belts just look uncomfortable.

    • Thanks for your comment. Belting or corseting to figure shape or drop weight, is a highly individual preference and choice to be made. I like to use both–but for different reasons. The negatives on belts for some, is that they tend to cause a gaseous tummy or perhaps lead more readily to heartburn. Others find them very easy to wear since they restrict the body not much at all but concentrate pressure at the waistline. Some find the hard edges of an unseasoned, new wide belt, especially if made in stiff, thick lattigo leather, presses on the skin before the leather begins to bend outward and reflect more of the natural midriff curvature. A corset (must be underbust style for waist-training) will restrict breathing and body movement more and thus may not be the waist-training garment of choice for some. A corset presses more on the stomach (which is located above the waist up to the rib cage) than does the belt. I choose a belt when I have not corseted or waist trained for some time, because I find it easier to get back into belting first and become accustomed to restriction for hours each day, then in a week or two, transfer to a corset. I do not choose to waist train in a belt other than for the initial period, because it pooches out my lower belly and I don’t want to exacerbate that problem as I age! At all times I couple and highly recommend belt wearing with a strong body shaper or girdle to ensure that my belly is pulled in to counter the belt pooching flesh outward. When ready, I transfer from the belt to the corset and continue lacing down and working on long hours of corset wear. Hope you find my experience helpful to you!

Leave a Reply

