More about plumbing and corseting

Well, this blog is not really about plumbing plumbing, if you know what I mean. A young corset client and new waist-training enthusiast just wrote inquiring about wearing her corset when dealing with ‘plumbing’ issues, particularly no. two, and if wearing her corset will help or hinder those things. She also inquired about why her new higher fiber diet (35 gms per day; we also recommend even moving up to 40 to 50 or more gms of fiber a day, but doing so slowly over time with some compensation needed in terms of adding calcium, magnesium, and potassium when fiber gets that high as a portion of your diet), didn’t seem to be making her elimination easier as she had expected.

Sound questions. Considering advice I’ve solicited and received over the years I’ve been studying nutrition and corset waist training plus other health matters, much of it from practicing physicians and nurses, and even from a recent dietician client, I suspect that changes in one’s nutrition as to intake amount and portion of fiber, cutting back on calorie intake, or even changing ones eating habits such as slowing down to chew more slowly, all this can have an impact on other systems of the body. After all, we are one human body, not a body separated into unrelated systems.  Change one thing and other things will be impacted.

It didn’t sound like my client’s problems were serious enough for a doctor’s visit, but being a responsible person I should stress to her and to you that paying attention to things like this early on before they become medical matters, is highly responsible and logical. Waist training brings to you a lot more body-consciousness, and this consciousness is crucial to preserve your health, understand your body, and work with it and not against it as you move slowly forward with waist training. It’s the same thing as with any other kind of rather rigorous discipline. Waist training is after all, both a mental and a physical challenge requiring new patterns, habits, and certain changes to be made.

If there is one thing I have learned over my past 20 years in the corset business, it is that every one is individual. How you relate to corseting and training will differ from anyone else, although certain patterns can be expected. What I recommended to this young client is that she experiment going to the bathroom wearing her corset tightly, loosely, and then not wearing it at all, to see what worked for her. I know folks who do all of the above or prefer only one!

Also I suggested that she be sure to up her water intake to 10 glasses per day for certain, and chew her food extra well. In addition, I suggested she might want to try two things I personally have found effective to ‘keep me on track.’  The first is to add wheat bran (purchase at health food stores; sometimes even at supermarkets), starting with 2 Tbsp per day moving up to 6 to 9, to her diet. It can easily be added to soups, salads, cereals and even more. The taste is rather nice, nutty as it were, and it’s easy to down. That’s insoluble fiber that seems for some to aid the passage of stool. Second, I suggested she try one small can or juice glass of prune juice every night before bed. Those two steps seem to work for me–but again, everyone differs.

For certain if one’s pattern of elimination changes dramatically for the worse and persists for more than a few days (depending on what is normal for you), and you  can’t seem to find the right solution, then it might be time to check with your doctor, but I’ve yet to find anyone who couldn’t solve this problem by themself.  Do you have some tried-and-true remedies for occasional constipation? One a friend sent some time ago, was to warm a glass of prune juice in the microwave and the put a small pat of butter on top.  Try it–you might like it!

4 Comments

Filed under General Waist Training Information, Hot Topics on Health, Proper Nutrition Tips for Waist Training

4 responses to “More about plumbing and corseting

  1. Annabelle

    Dr. Flora’s colon cleanse is #1 reputable product for eliminating bowel movement. I’ve tried it all and this stuff works wonders. It’s so good that it removes mucoid plaque! If you dont know what that is, look it up (warning: can be graphic). It also gets rid of parasites & their eggs although not always & depending on each individual but you pretty much have a movement 3x a day usually. The cleaner the colon, the better the nutrient absorption. The more nutrients you absorb, the less your body requires food for nutrients & the less hungry you are. You no longer feel sluggish or tired. I have more energy & have been noticing I sleep better too. Those were added benefits I was not expecting, especially now that my colon is being emptied I have less of a pooch in my stomach. It’s not completely flat but the improvement is a nice surprise!

    • susan

      I have a condition known as ibs. I’ve had to rethink my diet and incorporate a lot more fiber. One thing I’ve done that helps out a lot and I really notice when I don’t do this. I bought a juice and make my own juice out of fruits and veggies, then I eat two pieces of fruit and yogurt with the probiotic my doctor suggested and it really helps. Plus most nights I’ve added a salad to my dinner, I have noticed a decline from where I use to be since wearing the corset. But I determined to make it work so any other things I can do to help would be great. I’ve also eliminated almost all processed foods, ibs has forced me to become more healthier and more consciousness about what I eat and drink.

      • Right on Susan! One of my waist-training coaching students had IBS and found that the corset plus concomitant corset-friendly nutrition practices and exercises helped rid her of the condition after three months. I was amazed. We were both a bit hesitant at first about how this would work, but it worked for her in some of the ways you mention above. I, too, have recently added salads to most dinners, or even a full salad bowl with a small piece of sauteed fresh salmon on top. It’s a yummie dinner by itself, especially during the hot summer months — but watch the dressing! Processed foods and sugars are tough on the corseted tummy, plus I implemented a new approach to eating pasta–simply make 2/3 of the bowl grilled veggies with 1/3 of the bowl being pasta to cut back on the carbs. Works for us and is yummie, too! Thanks for your sound comments!

  2. Alexandra Lynch

    I do not waist train (yet!) but have a tendency to a slow gut, and find that regular eating of pearl barley and cracked wheat (say, cooked into a nice soup with chicken and mushrooms….) provides a nice natural regulator for those times when things are slowing down.

Leave a Reply

