Can We Eat Cheaply, Yet Wisely?

I was chatting with a former waist training student recently, and commiserating about the state of the poor economy, and resulting cut-backs in the type of foods and restaurant outings we were able to afford. Yesterday I saw Rachael Ray, the cooking guru, on television, talking about how to cook nutritiously without spending a lot of money. My friend told me how boring it was to do the above, and it led to to wonder:

Do you have any techniques or ways to cut portions and expense, yet choose food products that allow you to prepare nutritious and non-boring meals?

Falling back on hot dogs and MSG-filled ramen noodles are a lethal recipe for maintaining one’s figure and health, and those foodstuffs certainly work against corset waist-training goals.

Through April 15 ROMANTASY is sponsoring a call for unique recipes that are also cost-cutting and corset-friendly. If we haven’t already included them in our book, Corset Magic, and we test and accept your proposal, we’ll gift you with a copy of our book! (Be careful about violating copyright laws; please send accurate information about your sources)

Remember we are offering a $50 corset discount if you register for our waist-training coaching program before April 15. It might be a wise investment, and healthy treat and wise way to invest any expected tax refund:   http://www.romantasyweb.com/cyboutique/Workshops/WaistTraining.shtml

–Ann Grogan, President  (inquiry@romantasy.com)

3 Comments

Filed under General Waist Training Information

3 responses to “Can We Eat Cheaply, Yet Wisely?

  1. It really depends on what you consider boring, Anne. I wear a head cover and look pretty “natural” (Amish or Lubavitcher Jew, depending on what part of the country you are from) and get a lot of questions at the grocery store about cooking because not only do I look like I know something, I am pretty outgoing. A lady was asking me how I cook on a budget and I started telling him about stir fried veggies with chicken thighs and using the saute water for the rice or cooking pasta and she said, “That seems so boring!”

    I told her about making tacos or burritos with fresh (not cooked) tortillas thatyou cook yourself and she didn’t seem too excited about those, either. I mentioned the ways you can spice them up cheaply. No go.

    Potatoes with fixings and trimmings, sliced broccoli stems that you trim, and use the florets with the stir fry. . .

    It was OK– you can’t win them all. Maybe she will remember the ideas later.

    I later saw her in the store and what did she have in her cart but boxed pizzas, Hamburger Helper-type stuff, Tuna Helper, all high carbs. I realized that to her, if she was in a restaurant she was fine, but if she was on her own, more than one or two steps was exhausting. The next time I was asked about food, I asked the lady, “What do you like and how comfortable are you cooking?”

    I worked at a box store as a cashier and had people come through on food stamps and buy their food but no veggies but canned stuff. I am not stereotyping as I’d been on food stamps before and knew how to cook, but some people, even people not on them, had no clue beyond a microwave or skillet. I did a lot of educating in the three minutes I had with people in my line telling them little ideas.

    With my big family, nothing goes to waste. We eat a lot of soup and I make gazpacho as an evening meal at least once a week, with a hearty bread machine bread. (I never use margarine though– it’s too close to being a plastic.)

  2. I think people might actually starve for lack of imagination if junk food and boxed food simply ceased to exist.

    I don’t know what the going price for a box of tuna helper is, but brown rice and fresh veggies are cheap as is (depending on season) fresh tuna. If the tuna is already cubed up, it doesn’t take any time at all to brush it with a little port wine (or vermouth if you prefer a savory sauce) and grill it with some fresh bell peppers and pineapple– sprinkle with some sharp cheddar– how boring is that? Change the meat (chicken or pork instead of tuna), or change the veggies (carrots and zucchini or celery maybe) or change the sauce (soy or plain yogurt or oyster sauce) and/or the topping (sesame seeds, chopped nuts or feta cheese instead of sharp cheddar) and you have a whole new dish that is not time consuming or expensive at all– and its quite healthy.

    The nice thing is at that you can pop any leftovers in the freezer (labeled) and at the end of a week, put them into a stockpot (rice and all) with some tomato stock and cabbage leaves and have a nice stew (just add herbs and season to taste.) If cabbage isn’t your thing, then bok choy stems or celery.

  3. Delmuir

    I recommend eating in a similar manner to someone who is body-building.

    Lot’s of small meals… for that, I advise making a larger meal that can be cooked in advance, separated into smaller components, and re-heated or even eaten cold later on.

    Anyone involved in waist-training should probably always have on them (much like an athlete in training) a small amount of protein and some fruit.

    Lot’s of small meals are better than a few large ones and there is no reason why someone can’t waist-train while maintaining a healthy diet.

Leave a Reply

