Sucralose by any other name, is it lethal?

I was caught off guard by an article published on the internet in May, 2005, and sent to me by my current waist-training student. The article contained comments by James Bowen, M.D., about sucralose, and the brand name we know as Splenda. I might even say, the brand name I know and love….errrr….until recently. Now I feel the jury has walked out for further deliberations, and that I need to post a comment and invite your assistance in better understanding the chemistry of sucralose that Dr. Bowen claims is so dangerous, and any post-2005 research that may be out there. Don’t hesitate to send it on plus what you know about Splenda, as I re-think my recommendation in my Corset Magic book and waist-training program, of foods and drinks containing this product.

Apparently sucralose is a chlorocarbon employed as a biocide in bleach, disinfectants, insecticide, WWI poison gas, and hydrocholoric acid. Natural sugar is a hydrocarbon built around 12 carbon atoms. Salt which contains chlorine, is safe because it isn’t a chlorocarbon.

Dr. Bowen explains that cholorocarbons are never nutritiona;ly compatible with metabolic processes and functioning and that they can affect the liver and kidneys. He cites test animals that came up with swollen livers and calicified kidneys, and mentions his concerns about the brain and nervous system that could also be affected. 

However, he does not say what causes ingested chlorocarbon to reach the stage of poisoning, and what research exists to show any direct connection to liver damange, or the cancer, birth defects, and immune system destruction he fears.

I’ll keep you posted on what I learn and ultimately conclude about Splenda, but for now I will most likely cut down my consumption of it.

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Hot Topics on Health, Proper Nutrition Tips for Waist Training

Leave a Reply

