The “Perfect” Pill Solution to Obesity?

I was reminded by yesterday’s news that there’s a constant partner lurking in the background to work hand-in-hand with this year’s recession to defeat waist-training with corsetry–medicine!  Doctors take an oath to “first, do no harm,” but what’s their definition of “harm?”

Did you hear about the drugs discovered at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies in La Jolla, CA, that make mice run longer and farther, even “couch potato” mice? Pop a pill and presto, chango! You are a jock or jockess in the making. Down a drug–scales drop and clothes dangle. That should please the fashion industry no end, an industry that must be going crazy trying to find new angles to push fads and fazes to sell more clothes.

To be fair, the crucial benefit of the new drug might be to the bed-ridden, so I’ll give it that. But will doctors and drug companies limit prescriptions and sales exclusively to that group? Drug companies, whom I recently learned make more money than any other business or industry in this country (no, not banks as I originally thought before January of this year, and no, not even the oil industry!)?

Sure, closing sales is the name of the game in a competitive, capitalistic economy. But I turn away clients seeking “quick fixes,” clients whom I believe would clearly be wasting a lot of time and money to opt for this or that style of corset they first want. I advise some seeking initial information that corseting would not serve their purposes because it is either too expensive for their goals of only one or two wearings, or might exaccerbate a serious health problem they report. I lose sales, more than I should considering the present economy, but at the very least, I sleep well.

Two weeks ago I turned away a client having a chronic (but not disabling) back problem. She was also challenged by serious budget limitations, so she wanted to order my cheapest corset.  After she tried on a sample, then another more expensive one, I quickly realized that ultimately her first choice wouldn’t work to give her the strong yet gentle back support she needed. I sent her home to think about my suggestion that she needed to select the second style and corsetiere from our many options, and save her money for a future purchase. I was fortunate enough to have her return three weeks later with her deposit money in hand, to accept my suggestion and place the order I recommended.

Should doctors take even less care to think through the consequences of their research and marketing promotions, and to whom they sell their products, especially now during the trial phase of this “quick fix” pill? Isn’t now the time to lock in a particular kind of business model and ethic that confirms the client’s welfare and best interests–if not first and foremost in the equation, at least of equal importance to making money?

It’s a rhetorical question, of course. What do you think?

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “The “Perfect” Pill Solution to Obesity?

  1. I am astounded by how many doctors offer whatever is approved of by the FDA based on the FDA. I have been told by doctors that I’d do well with Lasik surgery since I can’t wear contacts– then I read that a certain percentage of of people who have bad experiences wish their new problems could be corrected. No thanks– glasses also protect my eyes from cooking oil and other things that come at me. At least my vision is still correctable! (I’ve worn glasses since I was nine and I love them.)

    When my dad died, everyone from my mom’s gyn to her back doctor were offering her antidepressants. She said to me, “How am I supposed to feel when my husband of 45 years has died? Sure I am crying in their office, they ask why I didn’t see them earlier and it’s because I was taking care of your father and couldn’t leave the ranch and it makes me sad knowing that he won’t be there when I go home that night!” Her thoughts were that she needed to grieve and get past it. She did yoga instead, a many thousands year old regimen that is tried and true and it worked and she is in phenomenal shape for anyone, not just for a 70 year old woman!

    Is a corset ~for~ a regular doctor to suggest or even know about? Maybe it’s the realm of chiropractors and osteopaths. They take anatomy class but few know anything about body structure. The process is slow.

Leave a Reply

