You Get What You Pay For — And Sometimes You Don’t!

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR — AND THEN SOMETIMES YOU DON’T! (A blog on healthy waist-training; please comment!)!

That’s a saying I often use when discussing quality and corsetry one sees almost everywhere these days in media images, readymade shops, and on the Internet.  I want to express my continued dismay and disappointment at the questionable (at best) quality of corsetry flooding the market on eBay and MySpace by new “wannabe” corsetieres, as well as those “readymades” from Pakistan and Thailand.  I’ve seen quite a few of both types and at $150 to $200 (non custom made), what can I say? You do get what you pay for — which is not much of anything except eye candy if viewed from a distance.  Up close, those corsets are often not even that.

Today I was reviewing the MySpace blog of a young lady who applied to join the ROMANTASY team two years ago.  Now, I am very particular as to quality and fit, thus require applicants to submit corsets to examine, plus make at least two for me to test personally, since I have rather dramatic curves to fit and do tight lace from time to time.  At $210 this lady was selling an overbust silk corset but not custom made! Just as I so often do, I looked up close and personal at her online photos and saw what I saw two years ago when she sent me corsets to examine: wrinkling (fabric tending to pull to the center of the corset) and uneven top or bottom edges (pattern pieces don’t meet).  So often one will also see wobbly grommeting and stitch lines, loosely-woven lightweight silks and satins, and loose bone casings, among other things indicating poor seamstress skills and lack of quality suitable for waist training and durability over time.

We just launched a new line of corsetry called our “Fundamental Line” designed to meet the budget constraints of corset novices and student corset enthusiasts.  Check it out here:  http://romantasyweb.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=R&Category_Code=ccfl  With a qualified young corsetiere Jill Hoverman on our team, we are now able to offer the Civil War overbust in silk at $305 —  fully custom! More importantly, Jill’s corsets meet the traditional high quality standards for tight-lacing and durability and artistry that I require my corsetry to meet before I offer them to clientele!  Plus, Jill’s underbust, fully custom Victorian in cotton twill is only $195!! How and where can you beat it today? 

Even better news from ROMANTASY, Sharon McCoy Morgan (our senior corsetiere from Birmingham) just moved her cute little “Bella” corset underbust style over to the Fundamental Line, selling in cotton twill or duck at $260 only — fully custom.  This is a fabulous little waist training corset and one we hope folks will be running to order and add to their corset wardrobe.

You may ask what difference wrinkling at the waistline makes to quality?  A lot.  Wrinkles in fabric as you tight lace a corset tend to wrinkle the skin.  Wrinkled skin tends to trap moisture from body prespiration, even if you wear the corset over our CorPro tube top, or a slip to wick it away, or talcum the skin first.  Moisture tends to lead to itching (not the most pleasant feeling especially in hot climates and over hours of wear), and itching can lead eventually to skin breakdown known in it’s severe form as decubiti (think bed sores).  True, the fashion corset-wearer won’t likely get much more than occasional itching, but this blog is devoted to waist training, and that assumes longer continuous wear of a corset which raises the body temperature, leads to sweating, and requires some care be taken to protect the skin.

Those who surf eBay and MySpace may certainly (and sadly) get caught up in the eyecandy corsetry out there.  But I imagine and continue to hope that as their corsetry education continues and corset sophistication matures, they will eventually find ROMANTASY and move up to real tight-lacing quality!

3 Comments

Filed under Custom Corsets Suitable for Waist Training

3 responses to “You Get What You Pay For — And Sometimes You Don’t!

  1. Tea

    Ann!

    You know, a good corset which I now have reminds me of my fathers’ horses’ saddles! He couldn’t just get any saddle for his horses, they had to be made to fit! (My dad had horses that sold for six figures. He was very particular.)

    I love your new lines. I love how you make it easier for us to own great corsets and improve our figures and look terrific!

  2. Tea

    I just wanted to let you know that I just got my corset and I spent three hours with my waist down at 27″! Not bad for having had nine children! Ann, I know I will get down to 24″ or less!

    I did buy something off E-bay while I was awaiting Sharon’s corset. It lasted a few wearings. For me, I was glad that I bought it to know what a bad corset was like– but when I first put it on, I hated it. I was upset and mentally asking myself what I had done spending so much on a custom. (I spent $60 on the Ebay one.) Still, I wore it, smiling through the pain and assuring my husband that it was worth it and wondering how I’d stand Sharons’. Well, after a couple of wearings, it didn’t feel as bad. It broke down right after that. Still, I decided that I liked it. Trying on my Bella was a different experience and I wore it for “your” three hours. After two it started to get uncomfortable but I stuck it out. I’m not worried about wearing it tomorrow– I have trained harder for marathons! You have your instructions for a reason and I will follow them.

    My body will mold to this easily. It’s my body type, I think.

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Peiping!

Leave a Reply

