The Role of Hunger

Two days ago (Jan. 14) TV-hostess Oprah (back on her weight-loss mission once more) said that she had heard a diet guru recommend that she should just learn to tolerate hunger. “No Way!” she exclaimed–or something to that effect. One could tell that Oprah loves to eat!! Which set me to thinking about the perfect way that wearing corsets (or belts) address hunger, hunger being one of two things that tends to defeat our attempts to diet, according to some physicians. (The other is stress, as you might imagine).

Corsets provide external stomach banding. Banding prohibits that organ from stretching up to 10 times its at-rest size as it truly can when we stuff it with food and drink (amazing that!). While corseting during meals or snacks (and not reaching around to loosen the ribbons), our capacity to hold food drops dramatically (mechanical portion control) and allows over a very short time, even days, our hunger to diminish and our tummy to shrink.

Several of my waist-training students confirm this beneficial result from their dedicated waist training, or simply by wearing corsets from time to time. Do you have any experience or comments to add?

9 Comments

Filed under General Waist Training Information

9 responses to “The Role of Hunger

  1. Tea

    I am of the Russian Orthodox faith. We fast for a great period of time during the year– especially during Advent and Lent, but we fast on Wednesdays and Fridays, then on Saturday night till Sunday after Holy Communion. Orthodox don’t make a fuss of fasting– it’s considered vain and self righteous. We also don’t gain weight around the holidays!

    One of the parts of fasting, the most important aspect, is that we are denying ourselves. I have walked out on priests making a huge issue of it, almost voyeuristically talking about what we are not getting and describing the meat and rich foods. It’s all a part of denying ourselves to appreciate and focus on what Christ did.

    That being said– corseting is similar. (I am fearful of a lightening bolt here!) We deny ourselves for a greater cause.

    Why is it such a shock to Oprah that we God-forbid be a little hungry?!! “I want it, I gotta have it!” “I am the woman who has the right to deny myself nothing!” Are we as a culture so immersed in “gotta have it now” that we are emotional two year olds and cannot fathom denying ourselves from dinner time to breakfast?

    I can’t wait to start corseting. I am not afraid of the dieting aspects and I am sure that I will adapt easily to the restrictions. I think that the diet is actually an intelligent one!

  2. Tiffany

    It’s so funny I came across your blog and this post. I was just speaking to a coworker about how a great girdle is the worlds best diet aide. She pointed out the same can be said about a corset and waist training. This led me to google waist training.

    When ever I’m trying to lose weight, I put on a girdle that’s at least one size too small. I wear an “all in one”. It goes from the breast to the thighs. I’ve always wanted to wear a corset but know nothing about them. I’m going to continue my internet search and hopefully get my questions answered.

    But yes… anything that restricts the stomach is a great diet aide. Not only do you feel full, you never get hungry. It puts the ball in your court.
    Tiffany

  3. AJ

    I agree with you. I can’t wait to start waist training, and in the past when I was very disciplined in controlling my eating, I was able to shrink my stomach to a small size where I could get away with eating smaller than the serving sizes and wouldn’t be hungry! But lately that has been difficult, and hence where corsetting steps in. Personally I think it’s better to use a corset than to get the lapband or gastric bypass surgery, which are expensive, risky, and invasive.

  4. Roger K

    Turnabout is fair play. Wouldn’t it be satisfying to see an article in a medical journal endorsing the corset as a “magic pill” for the nation’s obesity epidemic, just to see its know-it-all critics sputter and writhe!

    Following up on that, wouldn’t it be cool if diet-coaching programs like Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, etc., were to recommend tummy-binders like firm girdles and corsets to their enrollees? And not only that, but to set up a referral arrangement with local corsetieres. The latter could distribute a video to be shown at dieters meetings, and/or come to meetings to lecture and demonstrate.

    This would be a round-about (and insidiously satisfying) way of turning the tables on those who have demonized the garment.

    I urge someone in the corset business to call a diet-coaching group and sound them out about this. The local agent in charge could be given a free trial corset, as a pump-primer.

  5. Roger K

    Here’s a slogan that diet-assistance salons could adopt: “Tight Makes Light”!

    Of course, the hegemonic medical profession might claim that their recommending corsetry for weight reduction would be tantamount to performing medicine without a license, and/or that any corset so employed becomes a medical device.

    The problem with such a claim is that it’s too late to close the barn door. Girdles have, I believe, been recommended in the past as appetite suppressants, with no objection from on high. So have grapefruits and other acidic foods, including even vinegar. If everyday objects such as those are said to become medical devices if they are employed to improve health, especially if only as a preventive measure, then a pair of socks would qualify, if a sock-seller were to recommend wearing an extra pair while hiking to prevent blisters. Thus the claim fails, because it implies an absurdity.

    Further, if necessary, no direct claim of improved health need be made: The weight-loss salon need only claim that improved appearance (due to weight loss) would occur from use of a corset. It’s not as though they’d be claiming that it offered relief from a painful back.

    I bet some Bay Area weight-loss salon, of which there must be dozens, has a connection with an MD who’d be sympathetic to stomach compression-by-corset means of appetite suppression, and would be willing to oversee, and maybe even write about, an initial set of trials.

    If necessary to get a foot in the door, the old-fashioned fan-lacing hook-side lace-up “foundation” of the 20s through the 60s could be employed initially, because no tin-pot tyrant of an MD could claim that such an everyday 20th century item was a “brace.” Once that point is established, then it would be impossible (logically speaking) to bar the door to an item that performed the same function in the 19th century.

    (However, one must bear in mind Wilson’s Law of the Superiority of Politics to Science: “If A is grater than B, and B is greater than C, then A is greater than C, except where prohibited by law.”)

  6. Sarah

    In defense of Nutrisystem, I will say that their diet plan does work. I know of two co-workers that have been very successful with the Nutrisystem program. Whether you do diet programs or corset waist reduction, the bottom line is that you must follow the instructions and be dedicated to the program.

  7. Does Oprah know what really being hungry feels like? I love food as well, but I know the difference between being bored and wanting something to do, and actually feeling the need to eat (I wasn’t always so conscientious about it, I had to learn)

    A bored person doesn’t stop eating when they are full, a hungry person will.

  8. Katlynn

    I, for one thing agree with this. I am fifteen at the moment, and a fiteen year-old’s opinion may not matter to some but, I purchased a corset from a very well-known corset company in the UK. As soon as I recieved it, I began this diet immediately! I was so afraid to over-eat on account of the corset being just a little too tight. Over-eating then never became a problem. I still wear my corset from time to time, like for instance when I go to London to visit my cousin and we walk about, and I still never over-eat. I have lost almost seventy pounds and I both look and feel great! I owe it all to my corset. 🙂

Leave a Reply

